Faculty directory

NES FACULTY

Rutie Adler (510-542-8010; 270 Barrows)
Lecturer in Hebrew. Linguistics, Hebrew linguistics.
radler@berkeley.edu

Asad Q. Ahmed (272 Barrows)
Associate Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies. asad.ahmed@berkeley.edu

Wali Ahmadi (510-542-8101; 284 Barrows)
Professor of Persian Literature. ahmadi@berkeley.edu

Hatem Bazian (510-914-6722; 278 Barrows)
Lecturer in Arabic. Arabic language. hatemb@berkeley.edu

Chava Boyarin (510-542-8668; 260 Barrows)
Lecturer in Hebrew. Modern and Biblical Hebrew literature, classics. chava@berkeley.edu

Daniel Boyarin (510-642-8356; 248 Barrows)
Taubman Professor of Talmudic Culture. Cultural studies in Talmud and Midrash;
gender and sexuality; hermeneutics; ancient Judaism and Christianity.
boyarin@berkeley.edu

Elsa Elmahdy (288 Barrows)
Coordinator: Arabic Language Program. e.elmahdy@berkeley.edu

John L. Hayes (510-642-6183; 268 Barrows)
Lecturer in Arabic and Comparative Semitics.
Semitic linguistics, Arabic, Akkadian, Sumerian.
jlhayes@berkeley.edu

Ronald Hendel (276 Barrows)
Dabby Professor of Hebrew Bible.
Ancient Hebrew language, literature, religion and culture.
hendel@berkeley.edu

Chana Kronfeld (246 Barrows)
Professor of Modern Hebrew and Comparative Literature,
Modern Hebrew Literature. Literary theory; Yiddish language and literature, linguistic methods in literary criticism.
kronfeld@berkeley.edu

Margaret Larkin (510-542-3757; 274 Barrows)
Chair of Near Eastern Studies. Professor of Arabic Literature. larkin@berkeley.edu

Sanjyot Mehendale (510-542-8455; 294 Barrows)
Lecturer in Near Eastern Archaeology. Central Asia. sanjyotm@berkeley.edu

Laurie Pearce (282 Barrows)
Lecturer in Akkadian. Assyriology, Akkadian, and Cuneiform. lpearce@berkeley.edu

Jaleh Pirnazar (510-542-8001; 264 Barrows)
Lecturer in Persian.
Modern Iranian history. Persian language and literature, Iranian Cinema.
pirnazar@berkeley.edu

Benjamin Porter (240 Barrows)
Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology. bwporter@berkeley.edu

Carol Redmount (510-542-8011; 242 Barrows)
Associate Professor of Egyptian Archaeology. redmount@berkeley.edu

Francesca Rochberg (262 Barrows)
Professor of ancient Near Eastern history, history of science with a focus on ancient astronomy and astrology. rochberg@berkeley.edu

Niek Veldhuis (510-542-8262; 280 Barrows)
Professor of Assyriology.
Ancient Mesopotamian languages and cultures.
veldhuis@berkeley.edu

VISITING LECTURERS & FACULTY

Lecturers in Arabic:
Nasser Al-Khoury (Intermediate Arabic). nasserkh7@berkeley.edu

Soufiane Chami (Beginning Arabic). soufiane_chami@yahoo.com

Lecturer in Persian
Reza ghahramani (Beginning Persian). r_ghahramani@yahoo.com

Lecturer in Turkish
Jason Vivrette (Beginning and Intermediate Turkish). vivrette@berkeley.edu

Visiting Lecturers & Faculty in Other Fields
Vanessa Davies, Visiting Assistant Professor (Religion of Ancient Egypt). vdavies@berkeley.edu

Manuel Duarte de Oliveira, Visiting Professor (Jewish Thought). moliveira@berkeley.edu

Heba Mostafa, Sultan Post-Doctoral Teaching Fellow and Visiting Assistant Professor (History of the Islamic City). hmostafa@berkeley.edu

Barbara Richter, Visiting Lecturer (Elementary Egyptian). richter@berkeley.edu

Bahman Solati, Visiting Scholar, Assistant Professor of Persian Literature.
(Ph.D. in Arab and Islamic Studies, Persian Literature and Comparative Studies, University of Manchester, Exeter). bahmansolati@berkeley.edu (CV)

Terry-Lynn Tanaka (NES), Visiting Lecturer (Reading and Compositin in Near Eastern Studies).
ttanaka@berkeley.edu

EMERITUS FACULTY

Hamid Algar, Professor of Near Eastern Studies and Persian Literature. Islamic culture, religion, philosophy; Sufism and the Qur'an. Ph.D. University of Cambridge. algar@berkeley.edu

Ayla Algar
Lecturer in Turkish. Turkish language and literature, language pedagogy. ayla@berkeley.edu

Robert Alter, Professor of Hebrew and Comparative Literature.
Hebrew literature, modern and biblical
. altcos@berkeley.edu

Guitty Azarpay, Professor of Near Eastern studies. Near Eastern Art. Ph.D. University of California. azarpay@comcast.net

Wolfgang Heimpel, Professor of Mesopotamian and Sumerian cultures. Ph.D. University of Heidelberg. w1j2h3@berkeley.edu

Anne D.Kilmer, Professor of Assyriology. Akkadian, Mesopotamian culture, literature and music.
Ph.D. University of Pennsylvania. adkilmer@cox.net

David Larkin, Lecturer in Egyptology.

James Monroe, Professor of Classical Arabic Literature. Hispano-Arabic literature, and comparative literature. Ph.D. Harvard University. monroe@berkeley.edu

Martin Schwartz, Professor of Iranian Studies. Pre-Islamic Iranian language, culture and Society; Middle Persian and Iranian philology; Zoroastrianism; Manichaeism, Indo-European, poetics and Semitics. martz@berkeley.edu

Muhammad Siddiq, Professor of Arabic Literature. Comparative Literature.
Arabic and Hebrew literature.
siddiq@berkeley.edu

David Stronach, Professor of the Near Eastern art and archaeology. M.A. Cambridge University.
(510-527-8663; 4410 Kains). stronach@berkeley.edu