near eastern studies CHAIR & Faculty advisers

DEPARTMENT CHAIRTower

Carol Redmount (510-542-3757; 242 Barrows)
Associate Professor of Egyptian Archaeology
redmount@berkeley.edu


GRADUATE ADVISERS Fall 2014-Spring 2015

Head Graduate Adviser
& Graduate Adviser in Ancient Studies

Niek Veldhuis (510-542-8262; 280 Barrows)
Professor of Assyriology, Ancient Mesopotamian languages and cultures


Graduate Adviser in Islamic Studies/Arabic/Hebrew/Persian
Asad Q. Ahmed (272 Barrows)
Associate Professor of Arabic and Islamic Studies
asad.ahmed@berkeley.edu

Sather Gate

 

UNDERGRADUATE ADVISERS Fall 2014-Spring 2015

Ancient Studies
Benjamin Porter (240 Barrows)
Assistant Professor of Near Eastern Archaeology
bwporter@berkeley.edu

Islamic Studies/Arabic/Hebrew/Persian
Wali Ahmadi (284 Barrows)
Professor of Persian Literature
ahmadi@berkeley.edu


EQUITY ADVISER Fall 2014-Spring 2015
Chana Kronfeld (246 Barrows)
Professor of Modern Hebrew and Comparative Literature
kronfeld@berkeley.edu

UC sign

FACULTY ADVISER FOR GSI AFFAIRS Fall 2014-Spring 2015
Ron Hendel (276 Barrows)
Dabby Professor of Hebrew Bible
hendel@berkeley.edu