resources: ANCIENT NEAR EASTERN STUDIES

    ANCIENT NEAR EASTERN SEMINAR ROOM

    Replica of Gudea Statue

    The Ancient Near Eastern Seminar Room is located in Barrows 12. It provides a wide range of reference works, text editions and primary sources for the study of the Ancient Near East, including Sumerian, Akkadian, Hittite, Archaeology, and Art History. The room is provided with AirBears wireless access as well as with wired Internet connections; a computer for general use is available.

    A searchable catalogue of the Seminar Room is available at
    http://librarything.com/catalog/UCBMesopotamia (use the "suggested style" link in the upper left corner). Books and other resources are non-circulating and may not leave the room. The room is used for seminars and small classes and may be reserved for small-scale events (maximum 12) that are related to Ancient Near Eastern studies. A data-projector is available. Graduate students who need access to the room may obtain a key by contacting Niek Veldhuis (veldhuis@berkeley.edu).

    The Ancient Near Eastern Seminar Room houses two Cuneiform Digital Library (CDL) projects: the Digital Corpus of Cuneiform Lexical Texts (DCCLT) under the directorship of Niek Veldhuis and Hellenistic Babylonian Texts Images and Names (HBTIN) directed by Laurie Pearce.

    ASSOCIATED FACULTY
    Marian Feldman (Ancient Near Eastern Art History); feldman@berkeley.edu
    John Hayes (Ugaritic); jlhayes@berkeley.edu
    Ron Hendel (Hebrew Bible); hendel@berkeley.edu
    Gary Holland (Hittite); gholland@berkeley.edu
    Laurie Pearce (Akkadian). lpearce@berkeley.edu
    Benjamin Porter (Near Eastern Archaeology); bwporter@berkeley.edu
    Francesca Rochberg (Akkadian and Babylonian Science); ochberg@berkeley.edu
    Niek Veldhuis (Sumerian); veldhuis@berkeley.edu

    Cuneiform Tablet

    DCCLT
    Niek Veldhuis (PI)
    Jeremie Peterson (Post Doctoral Researcher)
    John Carnahan (Research Assistant)
    Terri Tanaka (Graduate Student Researcher)

    HBTIN
    Laurie Pearce (Director)
    Jay Crisostomo
    (Graduate Student Assistant, 2009)
    Stephanie Langin-Hooper
    (Graduate Student Assistant, 2009)
    Chris Bravo
    (Graduate Student Assistant, 2010)
    Amber Zambelli
    (Graduate Student Assistant, 2010)

    CONTRIBUTORS:
    Dr. Francis Joannès, Paris
    Dr. Ronald Wallenfels,
    New Jersey
    Dr. Paola Corò Capitanio, Venice
    Dr. Philippe Clancier,
    Cambridge, UK
    Julien Monerie, Lyon/Paris


    Caption: Exercise Text from the collection of the Hearst Museum of Anthropology, museum number HMA 9-2992. The text contains a brief extract from a bilingual (Sumerian-Akkadian) dictionary used in scribal education.